Two Catholic Schools in Archdiocese of Louisville Win National Blue Ribbon Awards

/, 2017 Schools Press Release, School Press Releases/Two Catholic Schools in Archdiocese of Louisville Win National Blue Ribbon Awards

Two Catholic Schools in Archdiocese of Louisville Win National Blue Ribbon Awards

September 28, 2017  (Louisville, KY) – Today, the United States Department of Education announced that two Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Louisville have been named 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools. Two elementary schools serving preschool through grade 8 will be recognized: Saint Joseph School (320 West Stephen Foster Avenue, Bardstown, Ky.) for the first time and Holy Trinity School (423 Cherrywood Road, Louisville, Ky.) for the second time (2017 and 2007).

These two schools are among nine public and non-public schools recognized in the state of Kentucky. In addition to Holy Trinity, one other school in Jefferson County was recognized. Saint Joseph School is the only school in Nelson County to be honored. Three hundred forty-two schools were honored nationwide; 50 of those were non-public schools.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors schools for helping students achieve at very high levels or for making significant progress in closing the achievement gap. Holy Trinity and Saint Joseph Schools were honored as Exemplary High Performing Schools, which have their state’s highest high school graduation rates and the highest achieving students (the top 15%) in English and mathematics as measured by state assessments.

The two schools join five secondary schools and thirteen other elementary schools that have previously received this award one or more times. The five secondary schools are Assumption High School, Mercy Academy, Sacred Heart Academy, Trinity High School, and Saint Xavier High School. The thirteen other elementary schools are Saint Agnes, Saint Albert, Saint Francis of Assisi, Saint Gabriel, Holy Spirit, Our Lady of Lourdes, Saint Margaret Mary, Saint Mary Academy, Saint Patrick, Saint Raphael, and Sacred Heart Model, all in Louisville, and Saint Aloysius in Pewee Valley, Ky. and Saint James in Elizabethtown, Ky.

Representatives from the schools will travel to Washington, D.C. on November 7, 2017 to formally receive the award. Local celebrations also are being planned.

FOR INFORMATION: Cecelia Price 502/585-3291 or 502/417-7187 (Cell).    

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
2017-10-13T15:51:58+00:00September 28th, 2017|2017 Press Releases, 2017 Schools Press Release, School Press Releases|