Two Catholic Elementary Schools Win National Blue Ribbon Award for First Time

/, School Press Releases/Two Catholic Elementary Schools Win National Blue Ribbon Award for First Time

Two Catholic Elementary Schools Win National Blue Ribbon Award for First Time

September 26, 2019 (Louisville, Ky.)–The United States Department of Education announced that two Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Louisville are 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools.  Two elementary schools serving preschool through grade 8 will be recognized: Church of the Ascension School (4600 Lynnbrook Drive, Louisville, Ky.) and Saint Dominic School (312 West High Street, Springfield, Ky.), both for the first time.

These two schools are among five public and four non-public schools recognized in the state of Kentucky. The Church of the Ascension School is one of only two schools recognized in Jefferson County, and Saint Dominic is the only school recognized in Washington County. The Department of Education honored 312 public and 50 non-public schools nationwide.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors schools for helping students achieve at very high levels or for making significant progress in closing the achievement gap.  Ascension and Saint Dominic Schools received recognition as Exemplary High Performing Schools, which have the highest achieving students (the top 15%) in English and mathematics as measured by a nationally normed assessment.

The two schools join five secondary schools and fifteen other elementary schools that have previously received this award one or more times.  The five secondary schools are Assumption High School, Mercy Academy, Sacred Heart Academy, Trinity High School, and Saint Xavier High School, all in Louisville. The fifteen other elementary schools are Saint Agnes, Saint Albert, Saint Francis of Assisi, Saint Gabriel, Holy Spirit, Holy Trinity, Saint Margaret Mary, Saint Mary Academy, Our Lady of Lourdes, Saint Patrick, Saint Raphael, Sacred Heart Model School, all in Louisville, and Saint Aloysius in Pewee Valley, Ky., Saint James in Elizabethtown, Ky., and Saint Joseph in Bardstown, Ky.

Representatives from the schools will travel to Washington, D.C. on November 14-15, 2019 to receive the award.  The two school also are planning local celebrations.

For information, call: Cecelia Price at 502/585-3291 (office) or 502/417-7187 (cell).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
2019-09-26T13:51:55-04:00September 26th, 2019|2019 Press Releases, School Press Releases|