Nine Individuals Receive Papal Honors

//Nine Individuals Receive Papal Honors

Nine Individuals Receive Papal Honors

November 18, 2013 (Louisville, Ky.) Archbishop Joseph E. Kurtz, D.D. is presenting papal honors granted to nine men and women by Pope Francis.  This prayer service and presentation will take place on Sunday, November 24, 3:00 p.m. at the Cathedral of the Assumption, 435 South Fifth Street.  This event is open to the public, and a reception will follow the ceremony.

According to Archbishop Kurtz: “These honors are being bestowed to those who serve Christ and His people through their witness of love and service that represents countless others.  These honors reflect the importance of faithful lay leadership and represent the special relationship of our Archdiocese with our Holy Father and the Universal Church.”

Two of the recipients will receive the Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice Cross, and seven will receive the Benemerenti Medal.

The Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice Cross is the highest award of the Roman Catholic Church bestowed by our Holy Father to the faithful.  The English translation is “For Church and the Pope.” Established in 1888 by Leo XIII, it is currently given for lifelong, distinguished service to the Church. 

The Benemerenti Medal is awarded to individuals for their dedicated service to the Church. The English translation of this honor is “well-deserved.”

 Honors are being presented to:

 Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice Cross: Sister Mary Prisca Pfeffer, R.S.M., St. Raphael Parish, Louisville

 Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice Cross: Miss Norma L. Merrick, St. Bartholomew Parish, Louisville

 Benemerenti Medal: Dr. Salem M. George, Sr., St. Augustine Parish, Lebanon

 Benemerenti Medal: Dr. William J. Godfrey, St. James Parish, Elizabethtown

 Benemerenti Medal: Mr. Richard A. Lechleiter, Holy Spirit Parish, Louisville

 Benemerenti Medal: The Honorable Romano L. Mazzoli, Our Mother of Sorrows Parish, Louisville

 Benemerenti Medal: Dr. Brian B. Reynolds, Holy Trinity Parish, Louisville

 Benemerenti Medal: Mrs. M. Annette Mandley-Turner, St. Martin de Porres and St. Augustine Parishes, Louisville

 Benemerenti Medal: Mrs. Clara Zoeller, St. Lawrence Parish, Louisville

 #          #          #

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
2017-10-13T15:53:08+00:00November 18th, 2013|2013 Press Releases|